Mystery, Thriller

Their Lost Daughters – Joy Ellis

There seemed to be so much loss attached to juveniles. They had nearly made it. Almost become what they were intended to be. Joy Ellis, Their Lost Daughters.

Their Lost Daughters is the second book in the DI Jackson and DS Evans series. When a young girl washes up on a beach DI Jackson and DS Evans are sent to investigate, before they are able to open up the investigation they are informed a decade old case is about to be opened up, missing girl Kenya Black, and they are to be at the forefront of the investigation, if this wasn’t enough a Superintendent from a neighboring division insists they need to join him on the hunt for another missing teenager Toni Clarkson.

I can safely say that I was not able to guess anything that was going to happen throughout this book from one moment to the next. Just one I thought I had it sussed it veered off in completely the opposite direction! The suspense and mystery of the book was enough to keep me completely hooked and although there was a multitude of characters being introduced the story itself was not to hard to follow. There was a bit of background into the two main detectives and it wasn’t until afterwards I realized this was the second book in the series, potentially there was a lot more character development in the first book. I have read a few mystery/thrillers recently and I have to say this is the first one that the ending was so far of what I thought it would be.

Rating: 8.5/10

Would I read again: Potentially

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: Well I need to read the first book in the series now

Leave a Reply

