Drama · Fertility

The Idea of You – Amanda Prowse

“It was this slice of magic among the mundane that added to the thrill” Amanda Prowse, The Idea of You.

Lucy Carpenter finally feels like she has it all, the job, the husband all she needs now is the baby. With her fortieth birthday fast approaching she knows it’s now or never. However when becoming parents becomes harder then they could ever of imagined and with Jonah’s (Lucy’s new husband) teenage daughter Camille coming to stay, the family is tested, will Lucy lose it all?

I found all of the characters in the book to be both likable and relatable and felt that Prowse did a great job portraying the different emotions of the situations. I was able to get really sucked into the story and although mostly predicable there was a few things that I didn’t see coming! I liked the writing style but wasn’t as much of a fan of the flashbacks, I would of also like to of been able to get a better understanding of Dex’s character and the relationship that Camille had with her mum. It was quite a straight forward story with not to much going on in the background. All in all though its a story that I finished with a smile on my face.

Rating: 7.5/10

Would I read again: No

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: Yes I do like the authors writing style

2 thoughts on “The Idea of You – Amanda Prowse

Leave a Reply

