fiction · Uncategorized

Clan of the Cave Bear – Jean M. Auel

clan“The difference in the brains of men and women was imposed by nature, and only cemented by culture.” Jean M. Auel – Clan of the cave bear.

Goodreads Synopsis:

A natural disaster leaves the young girl wandering alone in an unfamiliar and dangerous land until she is found by a woman of the Clan, people very different from her own kind. To them, blond, blue-eyed Ayla looks peculiar and ugly–she is one of the Others, those who have moved into their ancient homeland; but Iza cannot leave the girl to die and takes her with them. Iza and Creb, the old Mog-ur, grow to love her, and as Ayla learns the ways of the Clan and Iza’s way of healing, most come to accept her. But the brutal and proud youth who is destined to become their next leader sees her differences as a threat to his authority. He develops a deep and abiding hatred for the strange girl of the Others who lives in their midst, and is determined to get his revenge.

Review:

I was a bit dubious going into this book as I had heard that there was several inconsistencies in the writing, it wasn’t as quite historically accurate as it should of been…. As it turns out I know nothing about the Cro-Magnun or Neanderthal era so this wasn’t a problem in the slightest. If anything I got to learn a great deal more about hunting and gathering and the entire era in general then I ever did at school. Throughout the book you follow the life of Ayla, an oddity among those she grows up with, but she is smart, competent and more then willing to challenge their ways for things she see’s as unfair. There is always an underlying fight of who she knows they want her to be to who she knows she can be and it’s great to see her develop into a young women with so much potential. What I liked about the writing was the amount of detail that it went in to describe the setting and how the characters were able to survive, unfortunately this doubled as to what I disliked about the writing as it got to be extremely repetitive and slow as absolutely everything is explained in this degree of detail. What I found as well was that Ayla herself was just too good at everything she did, it gave her more of a god like status and to be honest I like to see my characters have a few flaws and overcome these through a myriad of different situations as opposed to being flawless and going through the same situations, although there was a lot of character growth and development for all characters not just Ayla, this was annoying. Either way I did manage to read this in nearly one sitting and is definitely one I would recommend.

Rating: 8.5/10

Would I read again: Yes, I found I skipped a lot of the repetitive details so there is probably something I missed.

Would I Recommend: Yes.

Would I read another book from this author: Yes

6 thoughts on “Clan of the Cave Bear – Jean M. Auel

  1. Its been ages since I read this book, but I definitely felt the same about the writing! The 5th book in the series gets even worse, at one point going on for like 5 pages taking about flowers, but overall the story was interesting, if you don;t think too much on the blonde blue eyed people being so wonderful at everything and better then the rest thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean, it’s the only thing that has really stopped me from reading the last few books in the series, while I want to know what happens I’m really not that interested in flowers, I will make my way through them some day I hope just need to psych myself up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are so many books out there. I wouldn’t waste my time on books that don’t really appeal. You are not in school anymore so you don’t have to read something because “it is good for you.” 😆 You tried the series; feel free to move on!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha I know it’s definitely something I need to work on 🙂 I’m slowly learning that I can always google what happens later in the series as opposed to actually reading it

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, that puts me in the older generation for sure! I had never thought about googling the events in a series. (Old school would have been reading the Cliff Notes.) I did, however, read summaries online of the Harry Potter books to refresh my memory when a new one was published.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

