Dark · Drama

Fiendish: A Twisted Fairytale – Meka James

meka“The most basic principle of Yin and Yang is that one cannot exist without the other,” I stated, stepping towards her. “There can be no light without the dark, no good without evil, and no you without me; we are complementary opposites that balance each other.” Meka James, Fiendish a Twisted Fairytale

GoodReads Synopsis:

So what would you do if your prince charming turned out to be the worst kind of monster? Calida Alexander moves from Charlotte to Atlanta after a painful break up. She faced some harsh realities about herself during that breakup and desperately wants to change who she perceives herself to be. When she meets Seth, she is drawn in by his sexy good looks and is won over by his gentlemanly demeanour. On the surface, he’s her dream come true. Seth Jokobi is sexy and charming, the kind of man that women dream of being with. As a master manipulator, he uses his charm and good looks as a lure. His prey never suspect that lurking behind those piercing blue eyes and million dollar smile, lies a sadistic monster. When he meets Calida, her shy nature tempts him into playing a game where the stakes end up being higher than he could have imagined. Can love really conquer all or is it sometimes just not enough?

Review:

Can I just start by saying Daaamm….I mean really my face was like this at least half the book….shock

I feel like the disclaimer on the top should be more heavily emphasised “Fiendish is a dark and twisted take on Beauty and The Beast. This story contains mature themes meant for readers 18+.” Seriously it should be in bold right there below the title, in the kind of font that will really slap you in the face! Don’t be fooled into thinking this is a sweet book based of a fairytale, there is absolutely nothing sweet about it, to say it is dark and twisted is such an understatement.

Anyway with that out of the way on the book itself, I think this time I will start with the things I didn’t like as much, what’s life without variation? Twisted is the debut novel for Meka James and although I did like her style of writing I think some parts could of done with a bit more editing. In regards to Calida, half the time I found myself internally screaming out her, she does seem to spend the majority of the time crying and while sure she has a lot to deal with it gets to be a bit excessive. (The other half of the time I was yelling for her to RUN and RUN fast though this was mostly due to events she was unaware of so I may forgive her). It also took a long time for her to stand up for herself and although I can see why she made the decisions she did, after a point all I wanted to do was step in and drag her away myself….

However with that all I said, I really did enjoy this book, it was one I found myself racing towards the end to find out what happens but at the same time not really wanting it to end. Seth is a character you just love to hate, he’s handsome, charming and has a quiet dark humour to him that at times is endearing and it seems he really does ‘care’ for Calida. The book itself is also quite a long read, but the story does flow and there are so many things happening that I didn’t find my attention was lagging at any one point. It also has a few good side stories going on which help to balance the evil in other areas. If  your looking for a tense, gripping edge of the seat, psychotic, twisted kind of read this is definitely for you!

Rating: 8.5/10

Would I read again: I don’t think I need to, I won’t be forgetting this one anytime soon

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: I am waiting for the next to find out how Calida’s story progresses 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

