fiction

The Last Girl – Joe Hart

“Because they were afraid. That’s why so many kill. Fear feeds the worst in all of us. It drives the most despicable of our natures to the surface.” The Last Girl – Joe Hart

 

Goodreads Synopsis: the last girl

A mysterious worldwide epidemic reduces the birthrate of female infants from 50 percent to less than 1 percent. Medical science and governments around the world scramble in an effort to solve the problem, but twenty-five years later there is no cure, and an entire generation grows up with a population of fewer than a thousand women.

Zoey and some of the surviving young women are housed in a scientific research compound dedicated to determining the cause. For two decades, she’s been isolated from her family, treated as a test subject, and locked away—told only that the virus has wiped out the rest of the world’s population.

Captivity is the only life Zoey has ever known, and escaping her heavily armed captors is no easy task, but she’s determined to leave before she is subjected to the next round of tests…a program that no other woman has ever returned from. Even if she’s successful, Zoey has no idea what she’ll encounter in the strange new world beyond the facility’s walls. Winning her freedom will take brutality she never imagined she possessed, as well as all her strength and cunning—but Zoey is ready for war.

Review:

I went into this book with high hopes, the premise was intriguing… the idea of a world on the brink of extinction, a dystopian society relying on captive girls to survive and a good old battle for freedom. However I just couldn’t get into it, I couldn’t relate to the characters, the action sequences were fairly predictable and I kept finding myself skim reading only to kind of zone back in and think wait when the hell did that happen. I think what annoyed me about Zoey was that she went very quickly to the good student to the bad-ass heroine taking down everyone left right and centre. There was no development though perhaps she was always meant to of been a bad-ass in disguise I really don’t know. There was also too many characters being repeatedly introduced, I just couldn’t keep up, (though to be fair this may of had something to do with the repeated skim reading). The other problem I had though was although I couldn’t find a rhythm and really get into the book the story was action packed and intriguing enough that I still really wanted to know what was going on which is why I did persevere and make it through to the end. I’ll admit I did eventually get absorbed into the book but by the time this happened I was already 80% through. I think just for the story itself the book does deserve a chance, it is the first in a trilogy so perhaps the others will be better.

Rating: 6/10

Would I read again: No

Would I Recommend: Yes to anyone who likes dystopian novels probably not to everyone else though.

Would I read another book from this author: Depends, I really do want to know what happens to Zoey but I’m not sure I can make it through actually reading the book.

4 thoughts on “The Last Girl – Joe Hart

Leave a Reply

