Paranormal · Supernatural

The Ninth Circle – C. A Harland

“Records? You’re telling me hell has a filing system?”

Goodreads Synopsis:

the ninth circleTala Morgenstern lives for the hunt, embracing her heritage as a demon hunter. When her younger sister, Hartley, disappears while on the trail of her long-lost father, Tala must seek the help of her other sister Aiva, who has turned her back on the underworld of magic and hunting. Suspecting demonic involvement, Tala and Aiva race to find Hartley before she can be claimed by hell.

Their search takes them deeper into the bowels of Dublin’s criminal underground, where the gangs are led by demons, and the currency is souls. With each Circle of hell bringing new dangers, and new revelations about their own place in the demon hunting world, Tala and Aiva have to rely on each other if they are to stand a chance of fighting their way to the Ninth Circle, and the demon lord who is waiting for them

Review:

Thank you to Netgalley for a free copy of this book in exchange to for an honest review.

I have to admit what first drew me to this book was the cover, I had already clicked download to kindle before reading what the book was about… woops. Once I had read the synopsis though I am happy to say that not only did it grab my interest but the book itself met all of my expectations throughout and then some. The story follows sister’s Tala and Aiva through a race through the nine circles, each facing a new challenge as they progress through, I was worried this may become repetitive but the action was fast paced and and there were enough differences for this to not be a problem. The characters themselves are well defined and their opposite natures work well together, their is a slight emphasis on them using their ‘female wiles’ to get through certain situations but it doesn’t detract from the story in any way. As a duo of demon slaying sisters in a profession that is deemed as a ‘family business their are times it could be seen as a female ‘Supernatural’ though I feel it did still manage to maintain an air of originality. One of the things that was great to see was that although there was definite potential for love interests it was not something the book focused on at all devoting more time to the sisters demon slaying exploits. Overall I would definitely recommend and am already eagerly waiting the next installment! (Don’t you just hate finding a book you love before the sequels have been written!)

Rating: 4.5/5

Would I read again: Yes

Would I Recommend: Yes 

Would I read another book from this author: Yep, waiting for the next book

 

3 thoughts on “The Ninth Circle – C. A Harland

  1. I looked at this book, I’m so glad you liked it. I like this emergence of more sibling/sister relationships in YA books! Funny they used their feminine wiles… if you’ve got them use them, lol… great review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely a high point when you see two characters becoming closer and aiding with some character development. It was also a nice change of pace for it to be with siblings, (I think I have read one too many romances lately haha)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

