Drama · Romance

From Rome with Love – Jules Wake

“I don’t feel romantic around you, I feel desperate, urgent.”

Amazon Synopsis:Image result for from rome with love book

Rome is the city of love and seduction, right? Not if you find yourself staying in a beautiful apartment with your childhood-friend-turned-arch-enemy, Will Ryan…no matter how hot he is!

Romance is the last thing on Lisa’s mind. She’s got more important things to focus on, like hunting down her estranged father. Except when her search falls at the first hurdle, Will doesn’t just help her get back on track, he also shares the romantic sights – and exquisite tastes – of the Eternal City, and Lisa starts to wonder if it’s not just Rome seducing her.

Only, as Lisa and Will dig into the past, neither of them is prepared for the long-buried secrets they reveal. Secrets that will turn both their world’s upside down …

Review:

I have very mixed feelings about this book, and very nearly didn’t make it past the first few chapters. The ending definitely made it up for me but unfortunately I still didn’t end up enjoying it as much as I would of liked. The characters themselves are pretty standard their’s the independent unlucky in love heroine, the good guy who doesn’t quite do it for her, the bad guy who brings up all sorts of unwelcome feelings and one eccentric grandma. By about chapter 4 I was pretty convinced I knew exactly what was going to happen and this about the point I nearly put the book down, fortunately my love of Italy, Rome in particular pushed me through. The descriptions of Rome were really well done and as we explored with ‘tour guide barbie’ I really felt like I was getting a sense of what it would be like to explore Rome in summer. There was also a lot of focus on food, this was both good and bad, good as I love me some food especially hearing about different delicacies, bad cos I love me some food and ended up wandering around the house in search of pasta. I felt there definitely could of been a bit of less focus on food overall as they do spend an overwhelming amount of time in restaurants. As for the ending I was pleasantly surprised with the twists their was and more then happy that I hadn’t successfully guessed what was going on by chapter 4. There was also a few character appearances from stars of another of her books ‘From Italy with Love’ however as I have not read this, didn’t appreciate it as much as someone who has would off. Overall quite an easy if not slightly hunger inducing read.

Rating: 2.5/5

Would I read again: No

Would I Recommend: It would probably be a great ‘add on’ if you have read the other books in the series.

Would I read another book from this author: Potentially but probably not from the ‘with love’ series

One thought on “From Rome with Love – Jules Wake

Leave a Reply

