Book Review · Fantasy · Mythology · Young Adult

The Goddess Test – Aimee Carter

“Maybe you’ll win when hell freezes over.”

He raised an eyebrow.

“That could be easily arranged.”

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Every girl who had taken the test has died.The Goddess Test (Goddess Test, #1)

Now it’s Kate’s turn.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom – and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld – and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy – until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

If she fails…

Review:

What first drew me to the book was the involvement of Greek mythology, I have always loved Greek and Roman Gods so I was pleasantly surprised with this one as the gods are a lot more involved then initially stated. However it has to be said there was a lot of artistic license used in their re-imagining, while this isn’t necessarily a bad thing as it gives more variety to the reading and the story but I can see how it may bother some people. Personally I didn’t mind as I mentioned it does give variety in writing and at least shows that the author is at least willing to try different things.

The start was quite emotional, I liked that Kate is shown to be able to stand up for herself  I was worried she was going to be quite a mild mannered character so was relieved when she turned around and proved me wrong! Her relationship with her mother has to be one of my highlights though as I felt that it was very well written and really did pull at the heartstrings.

Henry and Kate’s relationship took me a little longer to ship, sure they followed what I would call a normal trajectory for a young adult relationship which normally I adore but they just didn’t seem to have any chemistry and it took a long time before I was able to believe them as a couple. The most underwhelming thing for me though were the seven tests, I was expecting huge tests of herculean proportions (excuse the pun) but instead they just felt flat, she didn’t know she was participating half the time and when she did it seemed as if she had just immediately passed. Saying that I did like the idea behind them but it could of possibly been better executed.

The ending as well was something else that I felt fell flat, not because it didn’t surprise me because it did but I was just expecting something more, perhaps my expectations were too high I don’t know I was enjoying the read I just wanted to be enjoying it more. Either way I would still recommend it, especially to anyone who is interested in reading about the Greek Gods.

Rating: 3/5 

Would I read again: No

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: Yes

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

