Book Review · Indie Author · Indie Author Showcase · Romance

Indie Author Showcase – Kitty Boyes

Welcome to my very first Indie Author Showcase!

For today’s author we are featuring Kitty Boyes and her book ‘The Sins of Our Mothers’ which is the first in a three book series.

The Sins of our Mothers (Arina Perry Series #1)

Synopsis:

Romantic thriller – Set on the coast of Western Australia. Arina returns from the city to a town she fears hates her. Her mother’s secrets have become vicious rumours and Arina is determined to quell them coupled with a vision to restore her inherited motel. She meets Matt, a handsome stranger on her journey, and falls in love. But it’s not easy facing lies, secrets and an ultimate deceit. She can’t tell who her enemies are from her family and friends. But she finds out. The hard way. The old motel holds its own secrets including a deep dark cellar in the gardeners’ flat that reveals another darker, more sinister secret; a secret that a few are willing to do anything to get their hands on. Including murder.

Getting to know Kitty

Recently semi-retired through redundancy I pulled an old manuscript out of my filing cabinet, written on a typewriter 25 years before. I dusted off the cobwebs and decided to rewrite it to my computer. In the process I decided to make a few changes and suddenly I had a whole new story. I self published it to Amazon and shared it with my FB friends. I received  amazing responses that I didn’t expect, but made me do happy jigs. Several of my friends told me they felt there should be more. So I wrote book two ‘Her Father’s Daughter’.
E-book sales are minimal, but I order paperbacks from Createspace and sell them locally. These have been well received and I sell more this way although it’s limiting, geographically. Merchandising is the hardest part of writing as is editing, two things I hadn’t initially figured into my love of writing.But I push on with a vision to become a best seller someday.
I love the whole writing arena, I get lost in my own little world and smile in wonder sometimes at where it all comes from, especially when a twist to the plot presents itself that moves the story on and creates another aspect, another discovery, or another dilemma that must be faced in the journey my protagonist is on. I like red herrings yet limit them so my readers aren’t bamboozled with a lot of characters. My very favourite review, being verbal, a PM message, a phone call or an email, is when I’m told that they couldn’t put my book down. I’ve been phoned and told off because one lady had so much other stuff to do and only picked my book up to read a few chapters.I held her up for hours! YAY!
Reviews:
I personally have not read this book yet though it’s definitely been added to by tbr, I have however stolen some 5 star reviews already written from Amazon, so far the book has only gotten 4 and 5 star reviews.

For a first novel I must say I am impressed. This story has all of the components a great book requires. Love – Romance – Suspense & Mystery. When you start reading you think your in for a beautiful story of young love in a small country town, but it turns out to be so much more than that. I found myself wanting more and I couldn’t read fast enough to find out exactly what was going to happen next. You think you know where there story line is leading then – BAMMM! – nope you were completely wrong. I found this novel very enjoyable and found myself wanting more as it ended.

Overall – Great Book – A great read – Definitely recommend buying/reading!

This story is full of intrigue, suspense & keeps you reading. I loved the characters, the setting & the mix of history that is woven through the book.
If you would like to follow Kitty on her blog you can follow her here and if you would like to purchase from Amazon you can find the link here.
If your an Indie author and would like to participate send an email through to f-n-m@outlook.com with your name, the book you would like to showcase and three things you would like your readers to know and I will get back to you asap.
2 thoughts on “Indie Author Showcase – Kitty Boyes

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

