Uncategorized

The Last Child of Leif – Chris Pridmore

“It is a strange thing to know you are about to die. Standing on the gallows, noose around my neck, I know I should be frightened, terrified even. And yet, strangely, I’m calm.”

Goodreads Synopsis:The Last Child of Leif

Forced from my home, I find myself fleeing from the evil forces that killed my father. My mother and Sebastian, our protector, are by my side — but for how long?

I soon find myself travelling with a circus led by a kindly man called Konrad, but my young mind doesn’t know who to trust. Sebastian seems less at ease with every passing day. I’m struggling to cope with the tragedy that has befallen me, and the world now seems a lot more dangerous than I had ever imagined.

My name is Prince Valiant, and I am a Child of Leif.

 

Review:

Image result for five out of five stars

I originally came across this book when it was featured in an Indie Author Showcase, and decided to go ahead and buy it, and I’m so glad I did! It has easily become my favourite fantasy book of the year.

The book starts with a flash forward (this is where the quote from the top comes from) where Valiant is about to die. We are given no reason for this before we are launched into the start of the book which immediately takes us back to Valiant as a child and the night his story begins. What I loved most about this book was that I was completely absorbed into Valiant’s world, the story is fast paced, easy to follow with well defined characters. The world building was done in such a way that not everything was thrown at you at once, but flowed seamlessly as more and more was incorporated into the story.

My favourite moments of the book all occurred after Valiant and Sebastian met up with Konrad and his circus. As a kid I always loved going to the circus when it was in town, and as an adult I always find them fascinating when they are featured in books, there is just so much opportunity to have such diverse characters all travelling together. I also loved that for this circus it also got to incorporate elements of magic and fantasy which just gave a whole other element to the characters. I’m not going to name all of the characters and their abilities and so on but it was great to get to know them. In terms of the characters though Sebastian is still my firm favourite with Konrad coming in a close second, I just feel there is so much more to him then we have been told and hopefully will all be revealed subsequent books. I feel like I could probably go on and on about the book in general but at the moment I’m finding it hard to go on without giving out a whole heap of spoilers! As you might of guessed I highly recommend this book for any fantasy lovers, it kind of reminded me of the ‘Name of the Wind’ by Patrick Rothfuss so if you enjoyed that then you should enjoy this!

Rating: 5/5

Would I read again: Yes

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: Yes

 

Leave a Reply

