Book Review · Fantasy

An Unexpected Bonding – Lilly Rayman

“I find myself floating in a dreamlike state, but I’m surrounded by darkness. Yet I know I’m still alive, despite my last memory being of a wolf’s jaw locked around my neck, trying to squeeze the life out of me.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

For centuries there has been hatred, bloodshed and killing between the vampire and 24793221wolf nations. A supernatural race, older than both vampire and wolf, have foreseen a future of peace and prosperity. The few work together for the benefit of all, to bring about this peace. Meanwhile, enemies within the wolf nation are working to upset the balance of power. Will the unexpected bonding between wolf and vampire be enough to overcome the centuries of hatred and bring peace and unity to all? Will the wolf and the vampire overcome their own heartaches to accept their bonding and let romance evolve? At the death of her mother, Livvie was now the only wolf-less member of the Romulus pack, and found it almost impossible to live with them. With the Alpha’s permission she left to travel the country. When she fell in love, she found her place in the world and settled with the man of her dreams on his cattle ranch in Texas. But after nearly a decade away from the pack, Livvie’s life is about to change. Darius, an ancient vampire, son of the Egyptian Sun God Ra, is wandering. His heart is aching, and his soul is restless. Eventually he finds himself in Texas, working for a beautiful woman with a magnetic pull he does not understand. It’s only when she is taken from him, that he recognises a bond that is stronger than all others. The truth of that bond will shake him to his core. Isia is Darius’ twin sister. She has also found herself in a life threatening situation, unable to free herself and praying for death to claim her. Until she is found and rescued from an unlikely source, and her life takes an unexpected change of immense proportions. As Beta of the Romulus pack, Cato has worked tirelessly at his Alpha’s side. After decades of searching and never finding his soul-mate, he had given up on his search, and resigned himself that maybe the Fates were not to be so kind to him. But on a rescue mission for a lost pack member, Cato finds out that Fate had plans for him all along.

Review:

Image result for four out of five stars

I’m going to be honest I was expecting something completely different going into this book, but I can safely say though surprised it was a good surprise. Now the main reason I expected something different was because this is not like the usual vampire/werewolf book I have read before, for one it includes Fae. Two it gives an interesting origin story for both vampires and wolf, which originate partly from Egyptian and Roman legend, both of which I adore.

The stories itself is full of twists and turns to keep the reader engaged, as I mentioned there is a bit of back story and most characters also have a history which the reader get’s to explore. All characters where well written and each had a distinct voice which I thought was impressive as there are a lot of characters! What was also intriguing to me was that the Wolf’s and their humans had different personalities, two beings living as one, I really liked this idea as it gives a whole other aspect to the idea of ‘Werewolf or Wolf’. Another thing that I thought the author did incredibly well with was being able to incorporate so many ‘mythical creatures’ each had their part to play and where able to easily be incorporated into the world.

My only kind of problem with the story was that at times I found it hard to follow, not because of the number of characters, but because some scenes get repeated from a different perspective, which I like as tool to see into the characters minds and personalities but I did find confusing at times.

However this is definitely a book I would recommend, especially those looking for a different kind of take on vampires and werewolf (and fae)!

Thank you to the Author for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

Would I read again: Yes

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: Yes

 

2 thoughts on “An Unexpected Bonding – Lilly Rayman

Leave a Reply

