Book Review · Young Adult

Feel me Fall – James Morris

“It’s a nice story. A nice story for a mother to hear, but unfortunately not true. That’s not the real story at all. The real story is much more complicated.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

Secrets and survival in the AmazonFeel Me Fall

Emily Duran is the sole survivor of a plane crash that left her and her teenage friends stranded and alone in the jungles of the Amazon. Lost and losing hope, they struggle against the elements, and each other. With their familiar pecking order no longer in place, a new order emerges, filled with power struggles, betrayals, secrets and lies. Emily must explain why she’s the last left alive.

But can she carry the burden of the past?

Discover the gripping new adventure novel that explores who we are when no one is watching, and how far we’ll go in order to survive.

Review:

Image result for four and a half out of five stars

Feel me Fall is a young adult, psychological thriller novel which explores the deepest darkest parts of human emotion, and what we are willing to do in order to survive. The book is told from the POV of Emily, the last survivor this swaps between the present and the past, telling the story or the now, the jungle and the time before the crash. This was all done in a way that everything flowed seamlessly, which I think contributed to me finishing the book so fast!

Knowing that everyone else has perished at the very beginning of the book brings in an interesting element for me, although you know only one of the six teenagers makes it out, I still found myself secretly rooting for some of the others and still managed to feel disappointed when they met their inevitable end. The author also keeps you guessing on everyone’s motives, secrets and next move as the character’s become more established and familiar with the jungle. Although I didn’t find Emily a particularly strong character to begin with, she was likeable and progressed throughout the book. The author captures the emotion and turmoil of the six teenagers as they come to terms with their situation as well as the ‘curve-balls’ they end up facing along the way. I always find it harder writing reviews for books that I really liked as I kind of want to go into everything, but as I want to keep this as spoiler free as possible I’m going to leave it as it is and just go with if your a fan of YA thrillers, try this one out!

Thank you to the author for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

Would I read again: Maybe

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author: Yes

 

Leave a Reply

