Book Review: The Unwanted Wife by Natasha Anders

“Chemistry was a terrible thing; sometimes it simply sparked between the wrong people”

Goodreads Synopsis:the unwanted wife

All Alessandro de Lucci wants from his wife is a son but after a year and a half of unhappiness and disillusionment, all Theresa de Lucci wants from her ice cold husband is a divorce. Unfortunate timing, since Theresa is about to discover that she’s finally pregnant and Alessandro is about to discover that he isn’t willing to lose Theresa.

Review:

 This book definitely took me on a roller-coaster of emotions! The things that Theresa put up with for the eighteen months before she finally decided to stand up for herself were appalling and when you factor in numerous going ons to which she initially is completely clueless about it’s about 10 times worse. The story itself moves at a reasonably quick pace which was a relief as I was worried there was going to be a lot of internal monologues of the hopelessness of the situation, and although there is a few given the circumstances I feel like they’re aloud. The main thing that really got to me during this read was my change of feelings towards Alessandro. To say that I was not a fan of him at the start of the book is an understatement, he’s cold, heartless and manipulative and yes sure he has his reasons for being that I still really didn’t like him. Luckily for him Natasha Anders weaves a good story and by the end of book I found myself rooting for him.  It was great to read a book where the villain can be shown as a flawed individual and most importantly become a redeemable character. I can’t say the same about Theresa’s father however but that’s a whole other kettle of fish. One thing that did start to bother me about the book was the sheer amount of sex scenes they managed to include between Alessandro and Theresa, for two people that are supposed to hate each other they sure seem to get it on a lot. All in all a rather angst filled but enjoyable read.

On an unrelated note is it just me or are the majority of heroines in romance books red-heads I seem to be on a roll with the ones I am reading lately haha.

Rating: 3.5/5

Would I read again: Perhaps

Would I Recommend: Yes

Would I read another book from this author:  I would, I’m not sure if I would read another from the ‘Unwanted’ series though as they all seem to follow the same general story-line.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unwanted Wife by Natasha Anders

      1. Oh yes . I mostly read romances only for the grovel and angst , so it worked for me lol (though , ofcourse , there were irritant factors )

        Like

  1. That’s funny about the redhead comment. I’ve been noticing that lately too, and I read books from all over the place. They could be newly published or ones that have been on my shelf for years. It would be kind of interesting to keep a running tick sheet about the hair colors. Maybe a good reading challenge topic?? lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment